DWI vs. DUI in Texas – What’s the Difference?
Q&A series on criminal defense law. Today’s question: What is the difference between DUI and DWI in Texas?
We focus on DWI Criminal Defense in the DFW area.
Here’s the question of the day: What is the difference between a DUI and a DWI (in the State of Texas)?
The simple answer is based on the age of the offender, and the punishment that each law carries.
Under Texas Law, If you are under the age of 21, the charge is most commonly a DUI (driving under the influence).
Over the age of 21, the charge is most commonly a DWI (driving while intoxicated).
In Texas, driving while intoxicated (DWI) means drunk driving, and the state uses your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) to determine whether you’re too intoxicated to operate a motor vehicle.
Below are the state’s BAC limits:
21 years old or older: 0.08%
Commercial drivers: 0.04%
Younger than 21 years old: Any detectable amount. –http://www.dmv.org/tx-texas/automotive-law/dui.php
Another difference between a DUI and a DWI is the punishment. The punishment is more severe with each subsequent DWI conviction. This may include fines, jail time, and the loss of your Texas Driver’s License.
Call A DWI Attorney
(469) 718-2020 We offer free consultations to every new client.