Being arrested for DWI (driving while intoxicated) in Texas involves harsh punishments that can wreak havoc with your life for years.
Need to speak to a Dallas, TX DWI Attorney? Call (469) 718-2020 for a free consultation and DWI lawyer fees estimate, or use the contact form on this page to ask us a question.
Dallas DWI Lawyer Cost | General Info
You should note that nearly every Texas DWI case will generate a different set of legal fees based upon the specific facts of the case.
Please call (469) 718-2020 immediately to have a Dallas DWI Attorney review your case.
Generally speaking, each criminal attorney will charge fees based upon…
- The attorney’s degree of experience in DWI cases
- Specialization & reputation within the DWI / DUI Attorney industry
- The specific facts upon which your case is based
- The complexity of the required defense strategy (coincides with the severity of the offense)
- The time required to prepare for and defend your case, including document preparation, gathering the necessary evidence, and court appearances)
What are the fees and punishments for a Dallas DWI?
Texas uses a driver’s blood alcohol concentration (BAC) to determine if you are legally intoxicated. The BAC limits for Texas are:
- 21 years+: 0.08%
- Commercial vehicle drivers: 0.04%
- Under 21: Any measurable amount
For the most part, DWI crimes in Texas are related to your BAC level when you are driving any type of motor vehicle. However, police officers can place you under arrest for other alcohol-related crimes that involve a vehicle.
What are the Texas DWI Penalties
Penalties in this state are based upon age, type of license, whether passengers or children were in the vehicle, and whether anyone was seriously injured or killed.
What is the punishment for a 1st offense DWI with no children in the vehicle?
- A maximum fine of $2000
- 3-180 days in jail
- Loss of license for as much as one year
- Yearly fee of up to $2000 for three years to keep your driver’s license
What is the fine and jail time for a 2nd DWI in Texas?
• Maximum $4000 fine
• 30 days-1 year in jail
• Loss of license for as much as two years
• Same annual fee applies as for first offense
What is the punishment for 3rd or subsequent offense?
• A fine as much as $10,000
• Two to 10 years in state prison
• Loss of your license for as much as two years
• Same annual fee apples as for first offense
What about a DWI with Child Passengers?
If you are arrested for DWI in Dallas, Texas and have a child under 15 in the vehicle, you can be charged with child endangerment. DWI with a child passenger involves these penalties:
• Maximum fine of $10,000
• As much as two years in jail
• Loss of driver’s license for six months
What is the punishment for an Open Container?
It is against the law in Texas to possess an open container of alcohol in the vehicle, even if you only are parked on a public road.
Just being arrested for an open container violation can get you a $500 fine and a Class C misdemeanor on your record. If you are arrested both for DWI and open container, it is a Class B misdemeanor and at least six days in jail.
Is Intoxication Manslaughter a Separate Offense?
The Texas legislator created certain homicide laws that apply when a drunk driver kills someone else. This is a crime known as ‘intoxication manslaughter.’ Texas currently is the only state that uses intoxication manslaughter as a separate offense. In other states, it may be referred to as DUI manslaughter or DUI causing injury or death.
What is the penalty for Killing another person while drinking and driving?
- It is a second degree felony punishable by 2-20 years in state prison
- Mandatory minimum sentences are in effect for intoxication manslaughter convictions. If you receive a 20 year sentence, you must serve a minimum of two years.
- A maximum of a $10,000 fine
The cost of a DWI in Texas is severe and you should avoid drinking and driving at all costs. If you are facing a Texas DWI, you should contact an experienced Dallas DWI criminal defense attorney to protect your rights (469) 718-2020.